Day 40 – You can’t always have a winner…

Firstly, i just realised that all my days are out – starting with Day 25 (which should b e Day 26) until now! I only realised this now knowing that 40 days from the start of lent was the Sunday before Easter (that post i did a couple of weeks ago about when lent ACTUALLY finishes should explain…!), but by my squiffy calcs, today was Day 39… clearly a low carb diet is affecting my maths skills…

And so the end is in sight… but I’ve exhausted my baked treats supply and so needed a small stash to keep me going until d-day (Thursday is going to be a total bread-fest, followed by an all-chocolate Easter weekend!). Baking some cookies was also the perfect excuse to use up some of the big bag of almond flour i have sitting in my nano-sized kitchen…

Image

 

Be warned – as great as these look ( i think!), they tasted pretty damn bland, which means you probably won’t want the following recipe (makes 6-8) – but they wouldn’t be half bad if you could add something sweet and/or flavoursome to them (chopped apricots, dark choc chips, walnuts??!!) because the texture was great!

Cinnamon Cookies

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 100g almond flour
  • 25g coconut flour
  • 6 tbsp stevia
  • 5-6 drops vanilla essense
  • 1 tsp (heaped) cinnamon
  • 30g margarine (melted) 
  • pinch of salt

1. Melt the marg, whisk the egg and combine all ingredients to a dough.

2. Make into little balls and pat/fork down on a baking tray/greaseproof paper.

3. Bake at 175 degrees for 12-15 mins.

 

I guess i’ve been missing the bread side of my old diet today as after a flax muffin melt for lunch…

Image

…i REALLY wanted fajitas for dinner. Problem was, the last time i tried to make fajitas, they were pretty disastrous! I thought i might have a winning ingredient up my sleeve in the form of soy flour however, which meant time to head back to google:

http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Low-Carb-Flat-Bread-Recipezaar?columns=3&position=1/20

Looks great, right? Imagine my excitement! Except the dough never went dough-like, despite my adding flax meal and water (vegan recipes often substitute eggs for this combo, so figured it couldn’t do any harm in the binding stakes) and leaving it for 10 mins to see if it just ‘kneaded’ a little encouragement. Nope – crumbled like an old wall.

Image

Image

 

Frustrated, i confess, i turned to the cupboard where i had, last weekend, bought emergency wholewheat and linseed fajita wraps (new at Tesco’s, if you were wondering) and got through two of those instead! Failed!!! Or had i?? I had a quick look online at the GI of wholewheat wraps, and to my utter amazement, one source came up at having a GI of 30! All that effort, and there was a suitable, pre-made product on my doorstep the whole time!

Image

Why so different to other bread (GI 60 – 95)??? Apparently (without going into details) it’s because of the fat content:

http://www.gnolls.org/1029/fat-and-glycemic-index-the-myth-of-complex-carbohydrates/

So there – i had my first bread sample (and wheat-containing product) in 40 whole days and didn’t even break the Lyme diet code!

 

Leave a Reply

