Day 42 – Mexican Tuesday, Arrrriba!

I mentioned in my last post about wholemeal wraps having a pretty low GI, and still have 5 left in the packet, so thought I’d try something different to my normal fajita fix… and I fancied a bit of a red meat too, so decided on beef enchiladas. I have to say, because I love fajitas SO much, I never bother to make other Mexican dishes, so am not entirely convinced I’ve made enchiladas before!

Filling (made 5):

  • 300g beef mince
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 pepper or a few mushrooms
  • Chillis (to taste)
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, finely chopped.

Fry all together in a splash of olive oil – set aside.

Enchilada sauce:

  • 4 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • ½ tsp smoked paprika
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp all-purpose seasoning (could substitute for garlic and/or onion powder with a pinch of salt)
  • 2 sachets of arrowroot powder
  • ¾ carton of tomato passata
  • 50ml water
  • A few splashes of chipotle sauce (I used smoked;)

Heat oil, spices and arrowroot for a minute or two. Add tomatoes and water and bring to a simmer. Season with chipotle sauce to taste.

Construction:

Now, this might seem a little patronising, but I didn’t know how before googling it, so I don’t mean it in a ‘you’re a dummy!’ kinda way!

Image

  1. Spread a little enchilada sauce in the bottom of a lasagne dish.
  2. One-by-one, construct your wraps: filling, grated cheese and a little enchilada sauce. Roll fairly tightly into tubes and lay in dish seam side down. Repeat until dish full/run out of wraps!
  3. Pour remainder of sauce over the top – cover dish in foil and put in oven (150 degrees) for ~20 mins.
  4. Take off foil and sprinkle some grated cheese over the top of the sauce – a few more mins in the oven should make it all good and melted!

Image

Leave a Reply

